The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition

Announcement of winners
of the fifty-seventh competition held on December 7, 1996

Winning Teams

Rank School Team Members (in alphabetical order)
1 Duke University Andrew O. Dittmer, Robert R. Schneck, Noam M. Shazeer
2 Princeton University Michael J. Goldberg, Craig R. Helfgott, Jacob A. Rasmussen
3 Harvard University Chung-chieh Shan, Stephen S. Wang, Hong Zhou
4 Washington University, St. Louis Mathew B. Crawford, Daniel K. Schepler, Jade P. Vinson
5 California Institute of Technology Christopher C. Chang, Hui Jin, Hanhui Yuan
The first-place team receives an award of $7,500 and each member of the team receives $500. The awards for second place are $5,000 and $400; for third place $3,000 and $300; for fourth place $2,000 and $200; and for fifth place $1000 and $100.

In each of the following categories, the listing is in alphabetical order.

The Putnam Fellows-The Six Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $1000.
Jeremy L. Bem Cornell University
Ioana Dumitriu New York University
Robert D. Kleinberg Cornell University
Dragos N. Oprea Harvard University
Daniel K. Schepler Washington University, St. Louis
Stephen S. Wang Harvard University

The Next Four Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $500.
Federico Ardila Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Michael R. Korn Princeton University
Ovidiu Savin University of Pittsburgh
Noam M. Shazeer Duke University

The Next Five Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $250.
Andrew O. Dittmer Duke University
Michael J. Goldberg Princeton University
Samuel Grushevsky Harvard University
Craig R. Helfgott Princeton University
Adam W. Meyerson Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The Next Ten Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $100.
Pramod N. Achar Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Constantin S. Chiscanu Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mike L. Develin Harvard University
Andrei C. Gnepp Harvard University
Hui Jin California Institute of Technology
Carl D. Johnson Georgia Institute of Technology
Amit Khetan Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Alexandru A. Popa Princeton University
Robert Richard Schneck Duke University
Chung-chieh Shan Harvard University

Honorable Mention--Teams

University of Chicago Nathan D. Broaddhus, Benjamin M. Cowan, Christopher D. Jeris
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Federico Ardila, Eric Kuo, Adam W. Meyerson
New York University Aleksandr Bukharovici, Ioana Dumitriu, Yevgeniy V. Kovchegov
Queen's University Joanna L. Karczmarek, Michael A. Levi, Allan J. Roberts
University of Waterloo Jason P. Bell, Kevin Purbhoo, Soroosh Yazdani

Honorable Mention--Individuals

DAN E. ANGELESCU, California Institute of Technology TAMAS NEMETH, Macalester College
JASON P. BELL, University of Waterloo JACOB A. RASMUSSEN, Princeton University
NATHAN D. BROADDUS, University of Chicago ROBERT RIBCIUC, Harvard University
CHRISTOPHER C. CHANG, California Institute of Technology ALEX SALTMAN, Harvard University
DONNY C. CHEUNG, University of Waterloo YULIY V. SANNIKOV, Princeton University
PATRICK K. CORN, Harvard University NAOKI SATO, University of Toronto
JACOB ELIOSOFF, McGill University MARK J. TILFORD, California Institute of Technology
GALEN B. HUNTINGTON, Reed College JIRI J. L. VANICEK, Harvard University
CHRISTOPHER D. JERIS, University of Chicago JADE P. VINSON, Washington University, St. Louis
DANIEL B. JOHNSTON, Washington University, St. Louis MICHAEL J. WESTOVER, California Institute of Technology
JOANNA L. KARCZMAREK, Queen's University ERIC G. YEH, Harvard University
TRAVIS J. KOPP, Stanford University JUN ZHANG, University of Utah
FRANÇOIS LABELLE, McGill University HONG ZHOU, Harvard University
ONDREJ LHOTÁK, University of Waterloo ALEKSEY ZINGER, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize

Winner receives an award of $500.
Ioana Dumitriu New York University

Questions Committee

Mark I. Krusemeyer, Carleton College (Chair); Richard K. Guy, University of Calgary; and Michael J. Larsen, University of Pennsylvania

A total of 2,407 students from 408 colleges and universities in Canada and the United States participated in the Competition. There were teams from 294 institutions. More complete details will appear in the American Mathematical Monthly.

March 4, 1996, Leonard F. Klosinski, Director; Gerald L. Alexanderson and Loren C. Larson, Associate Directors