The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition

Announcement of winners
of the fifty-eighth competition held on December 6, 1997

Winning Teams

Rank School Team Members (in alphabetical order)
1 Harvard University Samuel Grushevsky, Dragos N. Oprea, Stephen S. Wang
2 Duke University Jonathan G. Curtis, Andrew O. Dittmer, Noam M. Shazeer
3 Princeton University Craig R. Helfgott, Michael R. Korn, Alexandru-Anton A.M. Popa
4 Massachusetts Institute of Technology Federico Ardila, Constantin S. Chiscanu, Amit Khetan
5 Washington University, St. Louis Daniel B. Johnston, Daniel K. Schepler, Arun K. Sharma
The first-place team receives an award of $25,000 and each member of the team receives $1,000. The awards for second place are $20,000 and $800; for third place $15,000 and $600; for fourth place $10,000 and $400; and for fifth place $5,000 and $200.

In each of the following categories, the listing is in alphabetical order.

The Putnam Fellows-The Six Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $2,500.
Patrick K. Corn Harvard University
Mike L. Develin Harvard University
Samuel Grushevsky Harvard University
Ciprian Manolescu Harvard University
Ovidiu Savin University of Pittsburgh
Daniel K. Schepler Washington University, St. Louis

The Next Nine Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $1,000.
Sabin Cautis University of Waterloo
Li-Chung Chen Harvard University
Jonathan G. Curtis Duke University
Andrew O. Dittmer Duke University
Michael R. Korn Princeton University
Dragos N. Oprea Harvard University
Michael Ostrovsky Stanford University
Jacob A. Rasmussen Princeton University
Stephen S. Wang Harvard University

The Next Ten Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $250.
Federico Ardila Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Matthew T. Gealy University of Chicago
Alex Heneveld Princeton University
David Y. Jao Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Eric H. Kuo Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Frédéric Latour University of Waterloo
Edward D. Lee Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Davesh Maulik Harvard University
Chung-chieh Shan Harvard University
Noam M. Shazeer Duke University

Honorable Mention--Teams

California Institute of Technology Christopher C. Chang, Wei-Hwa Huang, Hanhui Yuan
Harvey Mudd College Aaron F. Archer, Brian W. Johnson, David I. Rudel
Stanford University Alexander Dugas, Theodore H. Hwa, Michael Ostrovsky
University of Toronto Adrian D. Corduneanu, Edward C.W. Leung, Ryan W. O'Donnell
University of Waterloo Donny Cheung, Richard Hoshino, Derek I.E. Kisman

Honorable Mention--Individuals

AARON F. ARCHER, Harvey Mudd College AMIT KHETAN, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
JAMES M. BELK, Binghamton University DEREK I.E. KISMAN, University of Waterloo
ANDREW R. BOOKER, University of Virginia EDWARD C.W. LEUNG, University of Toronto
CARLETON J. BOSLEY, Harvard University ALAN J. MARTIN, University of Ottawa
CHRISTOPHER C. CHANG, California Institute of Technology CARL A. MILLER, Duke University
SAMIT DASGUPTA, Harvard University ANDREW M. NEITZKE, Princeton University
IOANA DUMITRIU, New York University ALEXANDRU-ANTON A.M. POPA, Princeton University
RON A. FERTIG, Princeton University KEVIN PURBHOO, University of Waterloo
BRAD A. FRIEDMAN, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign ROBERT RIBCIUC, Harvard University
DRAGOS F. GHIOCA, University of Pittsburgh MATTHEW E. RIDDLE, Carleton College
ANDREI C. GNEPP, Harvard University ALEX SALTMAN, Harvard University
CRAIG R. HELFGOTT, Princeton University YULIY V. SANNIKOV, Princeton University
CYRUS C. HSIA, University of Toronto BRIAN J. TIVOL, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
THEODORE H. HWA, Stanford University RONALD A. WALKER, University of Richmond
CHRISTOPHER D. JERIS, University of Chicago BEN D. WIELAND, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
MIROSLAV JURISIC, Massachusetts Institute of Technology LIANG YANG, Yale University
SANDOR KATZ, Beloit College

Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize

Winner receives an award of $1,000.
Ioana Dumitriu New York University

Questions Committee

Richard K. Guy (Chair), University of Calgary; Michael J. Larsen, University of Pennsylvania; and David J. Wright, Oklahoma State University.

A total of 2,510 students from 419 colleges and universities in Canada and the United States participated in the Competition. There were teams from 313 institutions. More complete details will appear in the American Mathematical Monthly.

March 1, 1998, Leonard F. Klosinski, Director; Gerald L. Alexanderson and Loren C. Larson, Associate Directors