The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition

Announcement of winners 
of the fifty-ninth competition held on December 5, 1998

Winning Teams

Rank School Team Members (in alphabetical order)
1 Harvard University Michael L. Develin, Ciprian Manolescu, Dragos N. Oprea
2 Massachusetts Institute of Technology Amit Khetan, Eric H. Kuo, Edward D. Lee
3 Princeton University Craig R. Helfgott, Michael R. Korn, Yuliy V. Sannikov
4 California Institute of Technology Christopher C. Chang, Christopher M. Hirata, Hanhui Yuan
5 University of Waterloo Sabin Cautis, Derek I.E. Kisman, Soroosh Yazdani
The first-place team receives an award of $25,000 and each member of the team receives $1,000. The awards for second place are $20,000 and $800; for third place $15,000 and $600; for fourth place $10,000 and $400; and for fifth place $5,000 and $200.

In each of the following categories, the listing is in alphabetical order.

The Putnam Fellows-The Five Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $2,500.
Nathan G. Curtis Duke University
Michael L. Develin Harvard University
Kevin D. Lacker Duke University
Ciprian Manolescu Harvard University
Ari M. Turner Princeton University

The Next Ten Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $1,000.
Sabin Cautis University of Waterloo
Christopher C. Chang California Institute of Technology
Donny C. Cheung University of Waterloo
Dragos F. Ghioca University of Pittsburgh
Andrei C. Gnepp Harvard University
Michael Ostrovsky Stanford University
Colin A. Percival Simon Fraser University
Alexander H. Saltman Harvard University
Daniel A. Stronger Harvard University
Liang Yang Yale University

The Next Eleven Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $250.
Ian W. Caines Dalhousie University
Scott H. Carnahan California Institute of Technology
Adrian D. Corduneanu University of Toronto
Matthew T. Gealy University of Chicago
Larry D. Guth Yale University
Amit Khetan Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Michael R. Korn Princeton University
Abhinav Kumar Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Davesh Maulik Harvard University
Dragos N. Oprea Harvard University
Rongfeng Sun Clark University

Honorable Mention--Teams

University of Chicago Benjamin M. Cowan, Matthew T. Gealy, Christopher D. Malon
Duke University Nathan G. Curtis, Andrew O. Dittmer, Carl A. Miller
Johns Hopkins University Alexander J. Diesl, Rakesh M. Lal, Nehal S. Munshi
Stanford University Eugene G. Davydov, Alexander S. Dugas, Michael Ostrovsky
University of Toronto Cyrus Chen Hsia, Bhaskara M. Marthi, Ryan O'Donnell

Honorable Mention--Individuals

CHETAN TUKARAM BALWE, University of Michigan MIRO JURISIC, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
ADRIAN BIRKA, Massachusetts Institute of Technology SCOTT P. KEMPEN, Marquette University
DMITRIY S. BOYARCHENKO, University of Pennsylvania DEREK I.E. KISMAN, University of Waterloo
LI-CHUNG CHEN, Harvard University ERIC H. KUO, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
CONSTANTIN S. CHISCANU, Massachusetts Institute of Technology CHIN-AIK LEE, Lebanon Valley College
JOHN J. CLYDE, Duke University EDWARD D. LEE, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
SHAI M. COHEN, University of Toronto CHRISTOPHER C. MIHELICH, Harvard University
BENJAMIN M. COWAN, University of Chicago CARL A. MILLER, Duke University
SAMIT DASGUPTA, Harvard University MINTCHO P. PETKOV, Dartmouth College
KENNETH K. EASWARAN, Stanford University DMITRY L. SAGALOVSKY, Harvard University
FREDERIK H. EATON, California Institute of Technology YULIY V. SANNIKOV, Princeton University
BRAD A. FRIEDMAN, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign IAN K. SIWANOWICZ, City College of New York
CRAIG R. HELFGOTT, Princeton University MARK J. TILFORD, California Institute of Technology
CHRISTOPHER M. HIRATA, California Institute of Technology IAN W.T. VANDER BURGH, University of Waterloo
CYRUS C. HSIA, University of Toronto CRISTIAN VOICU, St. Lawrence University
KAI HUANG, Massachusetts Institute of Technology HOETECK WEE, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
LIVIU IGNAT, University of Pittsburgh  

Questions Committee

David J. Wright (Chair), Oklahoma State University; Steven G. Krantz, Washington University, St. Louis; and Michael J. Larsen, University of Pennsylvania.

A total of 2,581 students from 419 colleges and universities in Canada and the United States participated in the Competition. There were teams from 319 institutions. More complete details will appear in the American Mathematical Monthly.

March 5, 1999, Leonard F. Klosinski, Director; Gerald L. Alexanderson and Loren C. Larson, Associate Directors