The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition

Announcement of winners 
of the sixtieth competition held on December 4, 1999

Winning Teams

Rank School Team Members (in alphabetical order)
1 University of Waterloo Sabin Cautis, Donny C. Cheung, Derek I.E. Kisman
2 Harvard University Michael L. Develin, Ciprian Manolescu, Alexander H. Saltman
3 Duke University Kevin D. Lacker, Carl A. Miller, Melanie E. Wood
4 University of Michigan, Ann Arbor Chetan T. Balwe, Rishi Raj, Dapeng Zhu
5 University of Chicago Matthew T. Gealy, Christopher D. Malon, Sergey Vasilyev
The first-place team receives an award of $25,000 and each member of the team receives $1,000. The awards for second place are $20,000 and $800; for third place $15,000 and $600; for fourth place $10,000 and $400; and for fifth place $5,000 and $200.

In each of the following categories, the listing is in alphabetical order.

The Putnam Fellows-The Six Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $2,500.
Sabin Cautis University of Waterloo
Derek I.E. Kisman University of Waterloo
Abhinav Kumar Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Davesh Maulik Harvard University
Christopher C. Mihelich Harvard University
Colin A. Percival Simon Fraser University

The Next Eight Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $1,000.
John J. Clyde Duke University
Michael J. Colsher Duke University
Joel K. Erickson University of British Columbia
Lukasz Fidkowski Harvard University
Aram W. Harrow Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Kevin D. Lacker Duke University
Ivan G. Petrakiev Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Hoeteck Wee Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The Next Ten Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $250.
Jesse A. Goodman University of British Columbia
Christopher M. Hirata California Institute of Technology
Stefan L. Hornet Princeton University
Joel Kamnitzer University of Waterloo
Yoon-Ho Lee Harvard University
Radu H. Mihaescu Harvard University
Rishi Raj University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Kaiwen Xu California Institute of Technology
Wai Ling Yee University of Waterloo
Dapeng Zhu University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Honorable Mention--Teams

University of British Columbia Joel K. Erickson, Jesse A. Goodman, Ho Sen Yung
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Kai Huang, Abhinav Kumar, Hoeteck Wee
Princeton University Michael R. Korn, Yuliy V. Sannikov, Ari M. Turner
Simon Fraser University Arthur Kowalczyk, Tomasz Kowalczyk, Colin A. Percival
Stanford University Kenneth K. Easwaran, Siu Taur Pang, Cristian Voicu

Honorable Mention--Individuals

ADRIAN BIRKA, Massachusetts Institute of Technology DRAGOS N. OPREA, Harvard University
GERGANA A. BOUNOVA, Massachusetts Institute of Technology SIU TAUR PANG, Stanford University
DMITRIY S. BOYARCHENKO, University of Pennsylvania SILVIU NICOLAE PREDIOU, University of Pittsburgh
CHRISTOPHER C. CHANG, California Institute of Technology ALEXEY A. RADUL, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
LI-CHUNG CHEN, Harvard University MATTHEW E. RIDDLE, Carleton College
BYUNG K. CHUN, University of Waterloo ALEXANDER H. SALTMAN, Harvard University
KEVIN P. COSTELLO, California Institute of Technology YULIY V. SANNIKOV, Princeton University
MICHAEL L. DEVELIN, Harvard University TOMOKAZU F. SATO, Harvard University
ALEX S. DUGAS, Stanford University ANDREW P. SCHEPLER, Michigan State University
MATTHEW T. GEALY, University of Chicago ARUN K. SHARMA, Washington University, St. Louis
BOGDAN A. GEORGESCU, University of Calgary JAN K. SIWANOWICZ, City College of New York
LARRY D. GUTH, Yale University PETER SURCEK, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
PAVEL T. GYRYA, University of Toronto SERGEY VASILYEV, University of Chicago
RICHARD HOSHINO, Queen's University HUAYANG WANG, University of Bridgeport
CHAD M. KEEVER, Massachusetts Institute of Technology MELANIE E. WOOD, Duke University
JAMES KELLEY, Pennsylvania State University KEVIN M. WOODS, Wake Forest University
LESZEK KOLTUNSKI, University of Pennsylvania DING I. WU, Wellesley College
TRAVIS J. KOPP, Stanford University BORIS ZBARSKY, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize

Winner receives an award of $1,000.
Wai Ling Yee University of Waterloo

Questions Committee

David J. Wright (Chair), Oklahoma State University; Steven G. Krantz, Washington University, St. Louis; and Eugene M. Luks, University of Oregon.

A total of 2,900 students from 431 colleges and universities in Canada and the United States participated in the Competition. There were teams from 346 institutions. More complete details will appear in the American Mathematical Monthly.

March 6, 2000, Leonard F. Klosinski, Director; Gerald L. Alexanderson and Loren C. Larson, Associate Directors

Transcribed to HTML by Kiran S. Kedlaya (kedlaya at Please let me know of any spelling or other errors.