The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition

Announcement of winners of the sixty-fifth competition held on December 4, 2004

Winning Teams

Rank School Team Members (in alphabetical order)
MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY Reid W. Barton, Daniel M. Kane, and Emanuel I. Stoica
2 PRINCETON UNIVERSITY Ana Caraiani, Suehyun Kwon, and Mihai Manea
Nikifor C. Bliznashki, Oaz Nir, and Lingren Zhang
4 UNIVERSITY OF WATERLOO Olena Bormashenko, Ralph Furmaniak, and Michael A. Lipnowski
5 CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY Po-Ru Loh, Mehmet B. Yenmez, and Rumen I. Zarev
The first place team receives an award of $25,000 and each member of the team receives $1,000. The awards for second place are $20,000 and $800; for third place $15,000 and $600; for fourth place $10,000 and $400; and for fifth place $5,000 and $200.

In each of the following categories, the listing is in alphabetical order.

The Putnam Fellows--The Five Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $2,500.
REID W. BARTON Massachusetts Institute of Technology
VLADIMIR V. BARZOV Massachusetts Institute of Technology
ANA CARAIANI Princeton University
DANIEL M. KANE Massachusetts Institute of Technology
AARON C. PIXTON Princeton University

The Next Ten Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $1,000.
TIMOTHY G. ABBOTT Massachusetts Institute of Technology
ROBERT M. BARRINGTON LEIGH University of Toronto
OLENA BORMASHENKO University of Waterloo
DORIAN CROITORU University of Pittsburgh
IAN T. LE Harvard University
SHAOWEI LIN Stanford University
ALISON B. MILLER Harvard University
ANDREI NEGUT Princeton University
JACOB TSIMERMAN University of Toronto
Harvard University

The Next Eleven Highest Ranking Individuals

Each receives an award of $250.
Duke University
STEVEN J. BYRNES Harvard University
DAVID W. COLEY University of Chicago
OLEG I. GOLBERG Massachusetts Institute of Technology
DANIEL R. GULOTTA Massachusetts Institute of Technology
SERIN HONG Stanford University
XIANNAN LI University of Waterloo
TIANKAI LIU Harvard University
MIHAI MANEA Princeton University
ZHONGTAO WU Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Harvard University

Honorable Mention: Teams

BUCKNELL UNIVERSITY Hoang Minh Le, Toan Vu Phan, and Robert C. Rhoades
UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY Boris Bukh, Xia Hua, and Vedran Sohinger
HARVARD UNIVERSITY Andrei Jorza, Ian Le, and Ricky I. Liu
STANFORD UNIVERSITY Robert D. Hough, Youngjun Jang, and Shaowei Lin
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO Robert Barrington Leigh, Roger Mong, and Jacob Tsimerman

Honorable Mention: Individuals

BORIS ALEXEEV, Massachusetts Institute of Technology KAROLA MESZAROS, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
JEFFREY M. AMOS, Kansas State University OAZ NIR, Duke University
DANIEL S. BROX, University of British Columbia NIZAMEDDIN H. ORDULU, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
MATTHEW B. BURKEMPER, Kansas State University VIRGIL C. PETREA, Massaschusetts Institute of Technology
PO-NING CHEN, Massachusetts Institute of Technology JONATHAN PINYAN, Washington University, St. Louis
MICHAEL O. CHURCH, Carleton College ANATOLY PREYGEL, Harvard University
FERNANDO A. DELGADO, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor GREGORY N. PRICE, Harvard University
ANAND R. DEOPURKAR, Massachusetts Institute of Technology FLORIN RATIU, Stanford University
ADAM V. DONOVAN, Massachusetts Institute of Technology SHUBHANGI SARAF, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
ALEXANDER R. FINK, University of Calgary STEVEN W. SIVEK, Massaschusetts Institute of Technology
CORY FLETCHER, University of Waterloo KALOYAN S. SLAVOV, Harvard University
RALPH FURMANIAK, University of Waterloo EMANUEL IOAN STOICA, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
YULIYA GORLINA, California Institute of Technology SAWYER J. TABONY, University of Chicago
MICHAEL A. HAMBURG, Harvard University KWOKFUNG TANG, University of Chicago
TIANYI DAVID HAN, University of Toronto JEREMIAH J. TAUZER, University of California, Berkeley
ROBERT D. HOUGH, Stanford University MATTHEW J. THIBAULT, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
SUEHYUN KWON, Princeton University ILYA T. TSEKOV, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
HOANG MINH LE, Bucknell University WEI-LUNG D. TSENG, University of British Columbia
JOEL B. LEWIS, Harvard University DAVID W. VINCENT, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
MICHAEL A. LIPNOWSKI, University of Waterloo MEHMET B. YENMEZ, California Institute of Technology
MARK I. LIPSON, Harvard University PAUL ZAGIEBOYLO, Carnegie Mellon University
RICKY I. LIU, Harvard University
RUMEN I. ZAREV, California Institute of Technology
PO-RU LOH, California Institute of Technology
JINGJIN ZHANG, Tufts University
ANDREW M. LUTOMIRSKI, Stanford University
LINGREN ZHANG, Duke University

Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize

Winner receives an award of $1,000.
ANA CARAIANI Princeton University

Questions Committee

Byron L. Walden (chair), Santa Clara University; Hugh Montgomery, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; and Steven Tschanz, Vanderbilt University.

A total of 3733 students from 515 colleges and universities in Canada and the United States participated in the Competition. There were teams from 411 institutions. More complete details will appear in the American Mathematical Monthly.

March 7, 2005
Leonard F. Klosinski, Director; Gerald L. Alexanderson and Loren C. Larson, Associate Directors
This HTML transcription was made by Kiran S. Kedlaya on March 21, 2005. Please address any corrections to kedlaya[at]mit[dot]edu.